ARS Research Grant Recipients

Grant recipients will be posted here for yearly-awarded grants.


ARS New Investigator Grants

Do-Yeon Cho
University of Alabama
Controlled Ciprofloxacin and Ivacaftor Delivery via Sinus Stent

Adam DeConde
University of California San Diego
Group 2 innate lymphocytes in aspirin exacerbated chronic rhinosinusitis

ARS Resident Research Grants ($8,000)

Ashton Lehmann
Massachussettes Eye & Ear
"Periostin as a Biomarker for Chronic Rhinosinusitis"

Robert Taylor
Medical University of South Carolina
"Steroid Resistance in CRS Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells"


ARS New Investigator Award:

No Recipeint

ARS Resident Research Grant

Carol Yan, MD University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia PA
Elucidating gram-positive factors stimulating T2R sinonasal innate defense

ARS Resident Research Grant

Arjun Parasher, MD
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai New York NY
The Role of Doxycycline in Severe Chronic Rhinosinusitis with Nasal Polyps


ARS New Investigator Award

Justin Turner, MD, PhD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Pro-inflammatory Mediators Alter Expression of NF-Kappa B-Regulating Deubiquitinases in Sinonasal Epithelial Cells ($25,000)

ARS Resident Research Grants

Nyall London, MD
John Hopkins University

ARS/AAOA Research Grant

Zachary Soler, MD
Medical University of South Carolina
Sleep Dysfunction in Chronic Rhinosinusisits ($20,000)


ARS New Investigator Award

Nithin Adappa, MD
University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
T2R38 Polymorphisms is a disease modifier in CF CRS ($25,000)

ARS Resident Research Grants

Adam Kimple, MD
University of North Carolina
Regulator of G-Protein Signaling-22: A Putative Regulator of Motile Cilia ($8,000)

Sarah Novis, MD
University of Michigan
Variations in Antibiotic Usage for the Treatment of Acute Sinusitis ($8,000)


ARS New Investigator Award

Benjamin Bleier, MD
Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Boston, MA
Project: MDR1/P-gp Overexpression and Negative Feedback Insensitivity in CRSwNP ($25,000)

ARS Resident Research Grants

Adrienne M. Laury, MD
Emory University, Atlanta, GA
Project: Periostin and RANKL Expression in Allergic Fungal Rhinosinusitis ($8,000)

Henry P. Barham, MD
University of Colorado, Denver, CO
Project: Periostin and RANKL Expression in Allergic Fungal Rhinosinusitis ($8,000)


ARS New Investigator Award

Holly Boyer, M.D.
University of Minnesota
"Office Sclerotherapy for epistaxis due to hereditary hemorrhagic telangectasia"

Resident Research Grants

Nicholas Sorrell, M.D.
"Manuka Honey for Management of CRS - an in vitro and in vivo analysis"

Samuel Oyer, M.D.
Medical University of South Carolina
"Inflammatory role of fibroblasts in chronic rhinosinusitis"


2010 Resident Research Grants

"Nasal packing as a drug-delivery system post-operatively in chronic sinusitis"
Garrett Griffin, MD
University of Michigan

"Inflammatory cytokine modulation of sinonasal ciliary dynamics"
Jessica Shen, MD
University of Pennsylvania

"Single vs. combined anti-leukotriene therapy in the treatment of CRS"
Marika Russell, MD
University of California, San Francisco

2010 New Investigator Award

"Characterization of human sinonasal intercellular junctional proteins"
Sarah Wise, M.D.
Emory University


2009 New Investigator Award

"Novel Flavonoid Compounds for Cystic Fibrosis Chronic Rhinosinusitis"
Brad Woodworth, M.D.

"Mucin Expression in Paranasal Respiratory Epithelial Cell Culture"
David Poetker, M.D.


2008 Resident Research Grant

"Microarray Analysis of Chronic Rhinosinusitis"
Frederick Roedinger, MD
University of California San Fransisco School of Medicine

2008 Resident Research Grant

"Mechanisms of B-cell Recruitment in Chronic Rhinosinusitis with Nasal Polyps"
Monica Patadia, MD
Northwestern University School of Medicine

2008 New Investigator Award
"The Role of Epithelial Cells in Chronic Rhinosinusitis"
Bradley Otto, MD
University of Pittburgh Medical Center


2007 Resident Research Grant

"Virtual Surgical Rehearsal for Pre-op Planning in Frontal Recess Sinus Surgery"
Sachin Parikh, MD
Stanford University School of Medicine

2007 Resident Research Grant

"In Vivo Laser Tissue Welding in the Rabbit Paranasal Sinus"
Benjamin Bleier, MD
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

2007 New Investigator Award

"Regulatory T-cells in Chronic Rhinosinusitis"
Jayant Pinto, MD
University of Chicago School of Medicine 


2006 Resident Research Grant

"The Electro-olfactogram in the Diagnosis of Olfactory Dysfunction"
Sumana Jothi, MD
University of California San Diego School of Medicine

2006 Resident Research Grant

"The role of Non-IgE Inflammatory Pathways in Allergic Fungal Rhinosinusitis"
Amber Luong, MD
University of Texas Southwestern


2005 Resident Research Grants

"Role of Toll-like Receptors in Chronic Sinusitis"
Murugappan Ramanathan Jr, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

"Nasal Airway Physiology During Stages of Sleep"
Luc G. T. Morris, MD
New York University School of Medicine