Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Chair / Diversity Officer: Troy Woodard, MD FARS
Email: [email protected]

In January 2020, the ARS Board and Committee Chairs convened for our first strategic planning retreat in several years. At that meeting, there was unanimous agreement that the ARS needed to update its Diversity and Inclusion Mission Statement and appoint a leader and a committee to address Diversity and Inclusion for the ARS. Troy Woodard, MD, agreed to become our inaugural Diversity Officer as well as Chair of our new Diversity and Inclusion Committee. Current committee membership includes Jean Eloy MD, Jivianne Lee MD, Jose Mattos MD, Erin O’Brien MD, Kenneth Rodriguez MD, Zach Soler MD, and Danielle Warner MD. The committee will study and implement plans to increase the diversity and inclusion of the ARS and its activities. They also welcome input from ARS Members.

Since its inception, the Diversity and Inclusion Committee has created a new Diversity and Inclusion Mission Statement for the Society:

The American Rhinologic Society (ARS) is committed to diversity and inclusion within the membership of our society.

In order to fulfill our mission of promoting excellence in patient care, research, and education in rhinology and skull base disorders, we are committed to respecting, promoting, and valuing the contributions of members regardless of their age, ethnicity, gender, race, disability status, economic circumstances, religion or sexual orientation.

We will actively work to improve the inclusion and participation of diverse members at all levels including in committees and leadership and in educational offerings and research support.

The ARS will advance culturally competent patient care and research and the role of diversity in the ARS membership to further these efforts.

Access the Recording Here

Committee Members

  • Term Ending 2024
    • Kevin Hur
    • Todd Spock
    • Troy Woodard (Chair, Diversity Office)
  • Term Ending 2025
    • Janki Shah